Where words fail, music speaks.

Music has always been a big part of my life and when I realized it was for Kerensa as well I asked her for some of her favorite songs so that I could get to know her better through music, and the very first song she told me was “Kiss Me” by Ed Sheeran. It was always a song I enjoyed and dreamed of having some one like that. I really liked that Glenn loved the song so much. 

 

We began a tradition of sorts where we would send songs that reminded us of each other, and one of the more memorable ones was Ron Pope’s “Drop in the Ocean.”  I listened and the words really stuck with me.  Was she scared of taking this crazy chance with odds stacked against us?  But, then I heard it, “I was praying that you and me might end up together. It’s like wishing for rain as I stand in the desert, but I’m holding you closer than most, ’cause you are my heaven.”  

I remember one night I was listening to music, and heard a song that seemed to take how I felt about Kerensa straight from my soul.  I immediately sent it to her and just a few minutes later I got a message, “that song really makes you think of me?” and I thought, “well Glenn, you blew this one” until the next message of, “that is the nicest and sweetest thing anyone has sent to me.”  Then later, for some reason, we challenged each other to pick a slow song and sing it (we like to break out of comfort zones…as you will see later) and I knew I had to pick this song.  Then, our first time together in person, the night before we had to say good-bye, not knowing if/when we would see each other again we played this song and danced.  Whenever I hear this song, I can still smell her perfume and feel her cheek on my shoulder. I’ll never forget hearing this beautiful song for the first time. It took my breath away. And when we danced to it, I admittedly cried because I knew I could never let him go. 

Leave a comment